The City of Waco, Best of Central Texas
Waco calendar YouTube Facebook Twitter
Waco
City Services

Municipal Court- Teen Court

Anyone 16 years of age or under, or 17 years of age or under for an alcohol-related or drug-related offense, whom is issued a citation for a Class C Misdemeanor must appear for Juvenile Teen Court. The court proceedings for Juvenile Teen Court are held on Tuesdays and Thursdays at 4:00 p.m. at the Municipal Court and Community Services Building, 201 W. Waco Dr., Waco, Texas.

*To be considered current day’s business, any payments and correspondence must be placed in the Safe Drop Box by 4:30 p.m. daily. ¬†Any business after 4:30 p.m. will be considered next day business.

The Municipal Court Judge sets a Juvenile Teen Court hearing date and issues a Notice to Appear to the parent or legal guardian.

The Judge mails the Notice to Appear with the court hearing date to a juvenile's parent or legal guardian at the address written on the citation. At the court hearing, the Judge explains ways that the juvenile can resolve the citation. The parent or legal guardian and the juvenile must be present for the Judge to proceed with disposition on the citation. If the parent or legal guardian fails to appear for the court hearing date, a Summons will be served to the parent or legal guardian ordering them to appear to the court.

If the juvenile fails to appear or does not comply with the Judge's Order after the juveniles turns 17 years of age, the juvenile and/or legal guardian may be charged with an additional violation of Failure to Appear with a maximum fine of $500.00 plus additional court costs. The State of Texas will be notified for the juvenile's failure to appear or lack of compliance. The State of Texas will suspend their driver's license or the juvenile will not be able to obtain their driver's license until compliance.

Article 45.057 Subsection (h) of the Code of Criminal Procedure requires that a child and parent or the person of parental relation have an obligation to provide the court, in writing, with the current address and residence of the child. On or before the seventh (7th) day after the date the child or parent changes residence, the child or parent or the person of parental relation shall notify the court of the current address. This obligation does not end when the child reached seventeen (17) years of age.

A violation of Article 45.057 subsection (h) may result in arrest and is a Class C misdemeanor.


Deferred Adjudication Probation

This program is offered to anyone who has received a citation for any Class C Misdemeanor filed in the City of Waco Municipal Court if:

    1. You have not disposed of a citation in the past 12 months by probation
    2. You are ineligible to take a Driving Safety Course (ineligibility is if a Driving Safety Course has been taken for any court within the past 12 months)
    3. You receive a citation for a moving violation and do not possess a valid Texas Driver's License but possess an out of State Driver's License;
    4. You receive a citation for more than one violation or 1 moving violation with an added Failure to Appear violation for non-appearance within the 10 days; and
    5. You are ineligible to be placed on the Deferred Adjudication Probation program if you possess a Commercial Driver's License.

A person must request, in writing or appear in person, before the Municipal Court within 10 calendar days from the issuance date of the ticket to request this option. For your convenience, a signature line is provided on the back of the copy of the citation issued to you for you to enter your plea. If mailing your request, please indicate, in writing, to the court if you are requesting the court to grant you the Deferred Adjudication Probation Program.

You can mail your request to:

The City of Waco Municipal Court
P. O. Box 2570
Waco, Texas 76702-2570

To ask questions, you may telephone the Municipal Court at (254) 750-5900.

If mailing the above items, please be sure to include your name and address so the Order Granting Deferred Adjudication Probation can be returned to you with the compliance requirements and compliance due date.

A person may also be required to do one or more of the following to comply with probation:

      1. Pay an Assessment Fee
      2. Take a Driving Safety Course
      3. Complete Community Service Hours
      4. Complete an Alcohol Awareness Education course
      5. Complete a Tobacco Awareness Education course

If a pet related violation, provide proof of vaccination or other related requirements. Upon compliance with the ordered probation program and within the compliance due date, citations will be dismissed.


Dismissal Violations

The citations that may be dismissed if certain stipulations are met include:

    1. No Liability Insurance;
    2. No Driver's License;
    3. Expired Driver's License;
    4. Expired Registration/License Plate; and
    5. Expired Inspection Sticker; and
    6. Failure to Report Change of Address.

The citation violation may be dismissed if the following requirements are met:

    1. No Liability Insurance - provide proof to the court of valid liability insurance at the date and time the citation was issued within 10 calendar days from the date the citation was issued.

    2. No Driver's License - provide proof to the court within 10 calendar days from the date the citation was issued that you possessed a valid driver's license on the citation issuance date.

    3. Expired Violations - provide proof to the court that the violation has been corrected within 20 working days from the date the citation was issued and a $20.00 dismissal fee for each expired violation. To provide proof for an Expired Driver's license, you must submit a copy of the renewal card for your driver's license within the 20 working days and the $20.00 dismissal fee. To provide proof for an Expired Registration/License Plates, you must submit a copy of the receipt received at the time of registration from the Tax Assessor-Collector's office within the 20 working days and the $20.00 dismissal fee. To provide proof for an Expired Inspection Sticker, only if expired less than 60 days, you must submit a copy of the receipt from the Inspection station that indicates the date of inspection and the amount paid for the inspection within the 20 working days and the $20.00 dismissal fee. If expired more than 60 days, payment of the fine is due in full.

    4. Failure to Report Change of Address - provide proof to the court that the violation has been corrected within 20 working days from the date the citation was issued and a $20.00 dismissal fee for this violation. Proof of remedy is a copy of your newly issued Driver's license with new address within the 20 working days.

      YOUR COURT APPEARANCE WITHIN 10 CALENDAR DAYS IS STILL REQUIRED TO AVOID BEING CHARGED WITH FAILURE TO APPEAR.

    5. If you received a citation for an equipment violation on a vehicle, you can provide proof of the equipment repair to the court within 10 calendar days and this violation at the Judge's discretion, may be dismissed with the payment of a $10.00 dismissal fee. The receipt of proof MUST indicate the specific equipment repair for the specific vehicle cited.

A person may mail or appear in person before the Municipal Court to request dismissal of the expired citation violations in the options explained above. For your convenience, an area for your request and signature is provided on the back of the copy of the citation issued to you. You can mail your request for dismissal and the requirements explained above to:

The City of Waco Municipal Court
P. O. Box 2570
Waco, Texas 76702-2570

To ask questions, you may telephone the Municipal Court at (254) 750-5900

If mailing the above request, please be sure to include your name and address for correct application of dismissal to your citation.


Driving Safety Course

If you receive a citation for a moving traffic violation, you may be able to prevent it from appearing on your driving record by completing a Driving Safety Course. To qualify for this option:

  1. You must possess a valid Texas driver's license and current liability insurance;
  2. Can only be granted for one moving violation on the citation;
  3. You must not have taken a Driving Safety Course in the past 12 months;
  4. Could not have been speeding 25 miles or more over the designated speed limit; or
  5. Could not have been speeding at 95 miles per hour or more; or
  6. You must enter an appearance on the citation within 10 days from the issuance date of the citation.
  7. You cannot possess a commerical driver's license.

You may request this option, by mail or by appearance in person, before the Municipal Court within 10 calendar days (not 10 working days) from the date you were issued the citation. You must present the following items to the Municipal Court:

  1. A plea of "No Contest" and the request to take a Driving Safety Course, either in writing (with your signature), which a space for your written request is provided for your selection on the back of the copy of the citation issued to you, or your appearance in person;
  2. A copy of your valid Texas Driver's License;
  3. A copy of proof of current liability insurance - the proof of insurance must be in the name of the person that received the citation.
  4. You must submit a $109.00 fee or $134.00 if in a school zone, at the time you request to take the Driving Safety Course.

All of the above items must be presented at the time of the request to take a Driving Safety Course for this option to be granted by the court. You can mail all of the above to:

The City of Waco Municipal Court
P. O. Box 2570
Waco, Texas 76702-2570

To ask questions, you may telephone the Municipal Court at (254) 750-5900

If mailing the above items, please be sure to include your name and address so the Order Granting the Driving Safety Course document can be returned to you with the compliance requirements and compliance due date.

After the court grants the Driving Safety Course, you must meet the two following compliance requirements.

    1. Take a Driving Safety Course within 90 days from the date the Order Granting the Driving Safety Course from a state certified instructor and return with your signature the certificate designated "Court Copy". You will receive two certificates after completing the Driving Safety Course and the "Insurance Copy" is not to be returned to the court.
    2. Request a certified copy of your driving record from the Driver Records Bureau, Texas Department of Public Safety, P. O. Box 15999, Austin, Texas 78761-5999. This request must be mailed with a $10.00 fee, check or money order, made payable to the Texas Department of Public Safety. Please request the certified copy of your driving record be mailed to you and not to the court so you know the certified copy of your driving record has been received per your request.

The above two items must be returned to the court by your due date (the due date is on your Order Granting the Driving Safety Course document) for the violation to be dismissed and prevented from appearing on your driving record.

 


Notify Me

Notify Me: Sign Up

Sign up for our notification list and we'll send you an
e-mail when the information on this page is updated!

E-mail Address: 

For your protection we use a “double opt-in” sign-up system. We will send you an
e-mail requiring your confirmation before adding you to the notification list.
Privacy Policy and Disclaimer

Notify Me